Behavioral and Experimental Public Choice Workshop

Posted On December 3, 2019

April 1, 2020 – April 2, 2020

Claremont Graduate University
Claremont, California

Call for Papers 
Submission Website 

Aim of the workshop

Public choice research has significantly increased our understanding of the incentives of public actors in non-market environments (e.g., political, legal) within which economic activities take place. However, much of the public choice literature is still based on theoretical assumptions about individual behavior or on field data from surveys that are not specifically tailored to answer the questions raised by theory. In recent decades, there has been a call from within economics to use experiments to examine preferences of actors that involve both wealth and non-wealth maximizing behavior. Together with theory and field data, experiments allow us to understand traditional public choice phenomena (bargaining, bureaucracies, communication, elections, information, legislatures) as well as more behavioral topics in collective decision-making (the role of risk, culture, emotions, institutions, norms) in greater depth.

The aim of the Behavioral and Experimental Public Choice Workshop is to unite researchers working across disciplines in order to discuss how the experimental method and behavioral insights can improve our understanding of a variety of public choice and collective decision-making topics.

Keynote Speakers

Keynote addresses will be given by Professors Thomas Palfrey (California Institute of Technology) and Leeat Yariv (Princeton University).

Workshop organizers

Marina Agranov (California Institute of Technology), Gregory DeAngelo (CJL, Claremont Graduate University), Glenn Harrison (CEAR, Georgia State University), and Rustam Romaniuc (CJL, Claremont Graduate University).

Important Dates

  • Submission deadline: December 15, 2019
  • Authors notified by January 15, 2020
  • Workshop dates: April 1-2, 2020

Previous Workshops

The first three editions of the workshop took place in Lille, France, in 2017 and 2018, and in Cork, Ireland, in 2019. The list of speakers included Jean-Robert Tyran, Dan Houser, Tom Stratmann, Rebecca Morton, Louis Putterman, Tim Cason, and Marie-Claire Villeval, among others. More information about the previous editions of the workshop is available on the workshop’s website: